Home » Sports » Racing » Wilson, Kelley return to ULMA victory lane

Wilson, Kelley return to ULMA victory lane

August 1, 2014

in Racing

Kelley_Young_LOS_7-26-14By Sam Stoecklin
ULMA Public Relations

July 30, 2014

Last weekend in Lucas Cattle Company ULMA competition Vance Wilson and Jeremy Kelley fought their way back to victory lane at Callaway Raceway and Lucas Oil Speedway respectively. For Wilson, it was his fifth win of the year and 35th career ULMA win; he last went to victory lane on May 2 at Callaway Raceway. Kelley last drove to a ULMA win on Aug. 4, 2012 at Lucas Oil Speedway. Kelley now has six career ULMA wins.

Friday action at Callaway Raceway in Fulton, saw 10 cars on hand for a pair of heat races to set the field for the night’s main event. Pole-sitter Chris Lapp led the charge in heat one to best Justin Russell and Zeke Langley at the line while second-starting Vance Wilson drove the David Miller-owned #06 to victory in heat two ahead of long-distance traveler Phil Edmondson and former winner Gage Wineland.

Quincy, Illinois’ Vance Wilson quickly paced the field for the main event as the ULMA’s all-time wins leader quickly shot out in front of fellow front-row starter Lapp to take command of the 20-lap main event. Lapp held strong in the runner-up spot as Wilson sat comfortably in the lead. Sixth-starting Zeke Langley advanced to the top five with Chris Cox also moving forward.

When the checkered flag signaled the end of the race, Wilson found himself in Callaway Raceway victory lane for the fifth time this season and first since taking over the seat of the #06 machine, owned by David Miller. Lapp finished in second followed by Langley, Cox, and McCoin inside the top five. Wineland, Russell, Cody Holtcamp, Daryl Dooling, and Edmondson rounded out the finishing order.Kelley_Winner_LOS_7-26-14

Three nights of competition remain on the schedule at Callaway Raceway this season as the track is set to host racing again this weekend. For more information, visit the track online at www.callawayraceways.com or call 573-592-7795 or 573-642-6580 for details. Gates open at 5:00 with Hot Laps at 7, and racing at 7:30.

Rainy weather settled in over Moberly, Missouri for most of the day last weekend as track officials were once again forced to cancel the evening’s race program at Randolph County Raceway (RCR). The track will try again this Saturday for another week of exciting high-banked action featuring ULMA Late Models. For more information, visit www.randolphcountyraceway.com or call the track Phone at 660-833-1727. Four ULMA points-earning events remain on the RCR schedule for this season.

At Lucas Oil Speedway on Saturday, 18 cars arrived for competition in a pair of preliminary heat races to set the field for the main event. Ethan Young, who was piloting a Victory Circle chassis, claimed the opening heat race over Payton Looney, Larry Jones, and Justin Russell. Former track champion Tommy Cordray of Browning, captured the win in heat two ahead of J.D. Hubert, Jake Williams, and Brian Schutt.

To start the main event, Young and Looney sat on the front row with Cordray and Hubert just behind. While Young set a blistering pace early on, other top starters weren’t as fortunate as Hubert, Justin Russell, and Looney all slipped back in the final standings by race end. On the opposite end of the spectrum, Kelley, Larry Ferris, and Jones all advanced positions to improve their final placements by race end.

Kelley, a former track champion vaulted from his twelfth-starting position on the grid to advance to the front and return to victory lane at a track he has suffered both heartache and triumph. Young finished in the second position and maintained his hold over the ULMA Rookie of the Year standings. Two-time winner Larry Ferris finished in third with Jones and Cordray rounding out the top five. Sixth thru tenth were Jon Binning, Jake Williams, R.D. Peterson, Brian Schutt, and new driver Cody Holtcamp.

In the quest for the season championship, Lockwood, Missouri’s Dwight Niehoff holds the point over former leader Chris Cox in a close battle for the top spot. Payton Looney, Zeke Langley, and Jake Williams are third thru fifth in the current standings. With just 13 possible points-earning races remaining, the final push for the Lucas Cattle Company ULMA championship is underway as drivers in the running begin to discard lower-placing finishes from earlier in the season. The ending is shaping up to be one of the most exciting in ULMA’s eight-year history as it looks like the championship will come right down to the final events of the year.

Lucas Oil Speedway hosts special-events racing this weekend but ULMA action will return to the track on Saturday, Aug. 16. Visit www.lucasoilspeedway.com for information or call the track hotline at (417) 282-5984. Four ULMA-sanctioned events remain on this year’s Lucas Oil Speedway schedule.

Non-ULMA members may purchase a temporary ULMA license for $10 per race night entry. Drivers should be expected to complete their membership paperwork upon checking in at each of the affiliated tracks.

Visit ULMA’s title sponsor at www.lucascattlecompany.com. ULMA thanks Hoosier Tire Midwest and Rod End Supply for their continued support. ULMA is proud to announce the return of RacingJunk.com to the sponsorship fold for the association. RacingJunk.com is the official classifieds of the ULMA. For more information on ULMA, visit www.ulmaracing.com.

Standings as of July 27, 2014


1st 9D Dwight Niehoff 19 1538

2nd 1T Chris Cox 25 1526

3rd 12 Payton Looney 18 1508

4th 23 Zeke Langley 17 1482

5th 72 Jake Williams 15 1468

6th 65 Jon Binning 16 1440

7th 12G Gage Wineland 14 1299

8th 0X Justin Russell 14 1252

9th 7E Phil Edmondson 14 1178

10th 7X Todd McCoin 13 1163

Remaining Schedule

Friday, August 1 – Callaway Raceway

Saturday, August 2 – Randolph County Raceway

Friday, August 8 – Callaway Raceway

Friday, August 15 – Callaway Raceway

Saturday, August 16 – Lucas Oil Speedway

Saturday, August 16 – Randolph County Raceway

Saturday, August 23 – Lucas Oil Speedway

Saturday, August 23 – Randolph County Raceway

Saturday, August 30 – Central Missouri Speedway

Sunday, August 31 – Randolph County Raceway

Saturday, September 6 – Central Mo Speedway

Saturday, September 13 – Lucas Oil Speedway

Saturday, September 20 – Lucas Oil Speedway

Previous post:

Next post: