Home » Sports » Racing » Cornell, Benson, Wineland & Beach winners at Double X

Cornell, Benson, Wineland & Beach winners at Double X

June 30, 2014

in Racing

XXspeedwayDouble X Speedway – California, MO

June 29, 2014

By Dean Reichel

Sunday Night Thunder roared again Sunday night with exciting racing action in all four classes that were on the card. All in attendance were “Racing for a Reason” as the night was celebrating the fight against Autism. Special events were planned and hosted by sprint car driver TJ Muths and his family to raise money for this worthy cause. The fundraising for this was not over shadowed by the action on the track though as the driver in attendance were definitely “Racing for a Reason”. The Street Stock class rolled off first on the night with rookie Cole Henson and veteran Steve Beach leading the field to the green flag. Beach would lead lap one and not look back as he claimed his second feature event in a row.

It was no walk in the park with his challenges coming from first Henson, then Dale Berry and John Clancy both pressuring the leader. At the checkered Beach claimed a victory margin of about 3 car lengths with Berry nipping a strong running Clancy at the wire for second. Harlan Dowell came from shotgun on the field to claim fourth and Johnny Wyman finished fifth. Completing the top ten were Henson, Chris Dunham in seventh, Keeth Strange in eighth, Cliff Champney ninth and James Keeran tenth. Heat races were claimed by Cole Henson and Steve Beach.

The Hobby Stock division saw Gage Wineland continue his wining ways in claiming the feature event. Kevin Prall finished a strong second, Will Register was third, Mike Schrader finished fourth and AJ Wirts completed the top five. Rodger Deatherage ran sixth, Chuck Coffey was seventh, Larry Dickson came in eighth, Eddie Lavery was ninth and Jacob Hardy rounded out the top ten. Heat races were won by Schrader and Wineland.

A large field of competitors was on hand in the 600cc Micro Sprint division which saw Sweet Springs, MO wheelman Quinton Benson claim the victory over the field. Ryan Marsch had one of his better runs this season to take second, Nick Schaefer claimed third after starting 14th, then it was Scott and Dean Hathman rounding out the top five. Placing sixth was Chris Koch advancing from 20th, Jordan Howell was seventh, Travis Arnold finished eighth, Garret Williamson placed ninth and Ayron Gennetten rounded out the top ten after starting 23rd. A lot of racing took place in this event. Qualifying heats were won by Scott Hathman, Quinton Benson and Kyle Spry.

Twenty winged sprint cars took to the track to “Race for a Reason” with Kyle Bellm and Brad Ryun leading the field to the green. Bellm would put the JHR 77 on the cushion and lead the first thirteen laps until making contact with the wall coming out of turn two while attempting to hold off a charge by second place running Jonathan Cornell. Bellm would flip after the incident also collecting Casey Baker as she tried to avoid Bellm’s machine. After the track was cleared for the red flag, Cornell would assume the lead and hold off a strong running Evan Martin. As the checkered waved after 25 laps, Cornell claimed the victory, Martin was second, Tyler Blank claimed a solid third, TJ Muths ran fourth and Taylor Walton brought home his machine in fifth. Ricky Stangl was sixth, Lanny Carpenter seventh, Matt Close eighth, Broc Elliott was ninth and first night driver Bobby Duncan was tenth. Heat races were won by Bellm, Brad Ryun and Walton.

The 25th Season of racing at Double-X resumes this coming Thursday with the ASCS Warrior Sprint Cars on hand to start off the holiday weekend. After they make visits to Callaway Raceway on Friday and Randolph County Raceway on Saturday the traveling stars will return to Double-X on Sunday night to close out the weekend and to determine the point champion of the 4 day tour. Of course the important weekly support classes will also be on hand at Double-X Thursday and Sunday as well. Also, there will be the Cory Wierman memorial washer tournament to benefit the “Turn 1 Up and Coming Driver” fund on Sunday July 6 at Double-X. Contact Kara Korte at 573-645-4852 for more information.

Results-June 29, 2014

Street Stocks

Feature Event–(10 cars, 15 laps, time 12:54)

1. 10-Steve Beach, Eldon; 2. 05-Dale Berry, Tuscumbia; 3. 8-John Clancy, California; 4. 29-Harlan Dowell, Tipton; 5. 95-Johnny Wyman, Fulton; 6. 31C-Cole Henson, Russellville; 7. 14D-Chris Dunham, California; 8. 7-Keeth STrange, Eldon; 9. 6-Cliff Champney, Holt Summit (DNF); 10. 52J-James Keeran, California (DNF); 11. 71-Destiny Dowell, Tipton (DNS); 12. 15-Curt Turpin, Jefferson City (DNS)

Heat 1–1. Henson; 2. Strange; 3. Champney; 4. D. Dowell (DNF) 5. Wyman (DNF) 6. H. Dowell (DNF)

Heat 2–1. Beach; 2. Clancy; 3. Berry; 4. Dunham; 5. Keeran; 6. Turpin (DNF)

Hobby Stocks

Feature Event–(12 cars, 12 laps, time 9:50)

1. 12g-Gage Wineland, Syracuse; 2. 14-Kevin Prall, Sedalia; 3. 77-Will Register, Sedalia; 4. 11-Mike Schrader, Sedalia; 5. XX-AJ Wirts, California; 6. 88-Rodger Deatherage, WIndsor; 7. 171-Chuck Coffey, WIndsor; 8. 34-Larry Dickson, Bunceton; 9. 4-Eddie Lavery III, Tipton; 10. X-Jacob Hardy, Green Ridge; 11. 4a- Laura Atkinson, Eldon; 12. 2x- Rudy Wirts, California

Heat 1-1. Schrader, 2. Prall; 3. Register; 4. Atkinson; 5. Coffey; 6. R. Wirts

Heat 2-1. Wineland; 2. AJ Wirts; 3. Deatherage; 4. Hardy; 5. Lavery III; 6. Dickson

600cc Micro Sprints

Feature–(26 cars, 15 laps, time 19:46)

1. 15b-Quinton Benson, Sweet Springs; 2. 2r-Ryan Marsch, Jefferson City; 3. 9s-Nick Schaefer, Marshall; 4. 56-Scott Hathman, Columbia; 5. 56h-Dean Hathman, Columbia; 6. 15k-Chris Koch, Sweet Springs; 7. 3j-Jordan Howell, Columbia; 8. 75a-Travis Arnold, Pilot Grove; 9. 3g-Garret Williamson, Columbia; 10. 44-Ayrton Gennetten, Versailles; 11. 7jr-Kameron Key, Warrensburg; 12. 88-Jimmy Dowell, Wooldridge; 13. 32-Jamie Kerr, Sweet Springs; 14. 98p-Miles Paulus, Marshall; 15.22L-Marty Ballenger, Malta Bend; 16. 15-Kaitlin Boland, COlumbia; 17. 14L-Carl Lewis, Sedalia; 18. 93-John Sampson, Sedalia; 19. 92-Brian Wood, California (DNF); 20. 35b-Dwayne Benson, Sweet Springs (DNF); 21. 3k-Kyle Spry, COlumbia (DNF); 22. 75s-Arron Smith, Houstonia (DNF); 23. 749-Kyle Schlotz, Jefferson City (DNF); 24. 8-Brian Lunsford, Marshall (DNF); 25. 37-Ethan Green, Wooldirdge (DNF) 26. 75e-Bailey Elliott, California (DNF)

Heat 1–1. S. Hathman; 2. Arnold; 3. Williamson; 4. Dowell; 5. Paulus; 6. Lunsford; 7. Ballenger; 8. Sampson; 9. Green (DNF)

Heat 2–1. Q. Benson; 2. Marsch; 3. Key; 4. Howell; 5. Schaefer; 6. Gennetten; 7. Koch; 8. Boland; 9. Smith

Heat 3–1. Spry; 2. Schlotz; 3. D. Hathman; 4. D. Benson; 5. Lewis; 6. Kerr; 7. Wood; 8. Elliott (DNF)

Winged Sprint Cars

Feature (20 cars, 25 laps, time 19:42)

1. 28-Jonathan Cornell, Sedalia; 2. 4-Evan Martin, California; 3. 75-Tyler Blank, California; 4. 65-TJ Muths, Sedalia; 5. 15-Taylor Walton, Warrensburg; 6. 24-Ricky Stangl, Less Summit; 7. 24x-Lanny Carpenter, Clarksburg; 8. 5-Matt Close, LaMonte; 9. 75x-Broc Elliott, California; 10. 9x-Bobby Duncan, Desloge; 11. 49-Tyler Elliott, California;(DNF) 12. 1x-Brad Ryun, Higginsville (DNF); 13. 10-Will Register, Sedalia (DNF) 14. 9-Casey Baker, Lone Jack (DNF); 15.77-Kyle Bellm, Nixa (DNF); 16. 0- Randy Martin, California (DNF); 17.XX-AJ Wirts, California (DNF); 18. 18x-Nathan Ryun, Higginsville (DNF); 19. 7a-Paul Solomon, Melbourne, AU (DNF); 20. 7K-Kelly Newcomb, Tipton (DNS)

Heat 1–1. Bellm; 2. Cornell; 3. Close; 4. Baker; 5. Stangl; 6. Carpenter; 7. Duncan

Heat 2–1. B. Ryun; 2. Blank; 3. N. Ryun; 4. Register; 5. Wirts; 6. Solomon (DNF); 7. Newcomb (DNS)

Heat 3–1. Walton; 2. E. Martin; 3. Muths; 4. R. Martin; 5. T. Elliott; 6. B. Elliott


Previous post:

Next post: