Hospital trustees receive Governance Excellence certificates

June 16, 2014

in Business

David-FloydBRANSON Mo. — The Missouri Hospital Association has awarded 28 hospital trustees with Governance Excellence certificates to acknowledge their completion of its voluntary educational program for hospital board members.

The Governance Excellence Certificate Program was launched in 2011 to enhance hospital trustees’ skills and provide them with increased knowledge of issues in hospital governance to help them make effective decisions for their organizations. The trustees were recognized Thursday, June 12, at MHA’s annual Leadership Forum in Branson, Mo.

“Hospitals are complex organizations,” said Herb B. Kuhn, MHA president and CEO “To add value to decisions about hospital operations and support a hospital’s work in the community, a trustee must have a thorough understanding of a range of responsibilities in governance practices and the integration of the hospital’s mission and values. The Governance Excellence Certificate Program is designed to expand trustees’ knowledge base and provide enhanced decision-making skills.”

To complete the certificate program, trustees were required to attend a day-long session at MHA’s annual convention in November 2013 and complete six of eight independent study modules. The certificate recipients serve as trustees at 15 Missouri hospitals.

Certificate recipients included the following individuals.

Albany, Mo. — Northwest Medical Center

Serena Naylor

Boonville, Mo. — Cooper County Memorial Hospital

Curtis Carter

Butler, Mo. — Bates County Memorial Hospital

Linda Jennings

Rick King

Clinton, Mo. — Golden Valley Memorial Healthcare

G.R. Lowe III

Fairfax, Mo. — Community Hospital – Fairfax

Debbie Gleason

Virginia Low

Fredericktown, Mo. — Madison Medical Center

Ruth Ann Skaggs

Hermann, Mo. — Hermann Area District Hospital

Betty Bruns

Janet LaBoube

Jefferson City, Mo. — Capital Region Medical Center

Jim Wisch

Kansas City, Mo. — Saint Luke’s North Hospital

Thomas Brown

Nevada, Mo. — Nevada Regional Medical Center

Bob Beaver

North Kansas City, Mo. — North Kansas City Hospital

Charlie Cash

Betty Sue Cliff

Glynda Jacobson

Gus Leimkuler

Robert Magee

Jennifer Mertes

Anthony Saper

Trent Skaggs

Ryan Tull

Osage Beach, Mo. — Lake Regional Health System

Greg Anderson

Potosi, Mo. — Washington County Memorial Hospital

Lisa King

Melvin Warden

Dr.-David-KuhlmannSedalia, Mo. — Bothwell Regional Health Center

David Floyd

David Kuhlmann, M.D.

Unionville, Mo. — Putnam County Memorial Hospital

Paula McCormack

The Missouri Hospital Association is a not-for-profit association in Jefferson City that represents 153 Missouri hospitals. In addition to representation and advocacy on behalf of its membership, the association offers continuing education programs on current health care topics and seeks to educate the public about health care issues. –-Submitted.

Previous post:

Next post: