Sedalian awarded theatre scholarship at KU

June 5, 2014

in Student

KUJulia Ubert, Sedalia, was awarded the Kilty Kane Award during the University of Kansas Department of Theatre’s ceremony, where scholarships totaling $144,000 were awarded to 52 students at its end-of-the-year banquet recently at Lawrence, Kansas.

“The long history of alumni and friends who have come through our doors has created a rich and unique legacy for the Department of Theatre,” said Mechele Leon, associate professor and department chair. “The annual Stage Supper is the event where those dozens of donors are honored, and our students receive the gift of our long and rich history.”

The department has more than three dozen named scholarships and awards given out each year. Students apply for the various scholarships and some of the awards available. The recipients are recommended by the faculty scholarship committee and then approved by the department committee, consisting of all faculty and two staff representatives.


Previous post:

Next post: