SFCC announces distinguished student writer awards

May 9, 2014

in Student

Writing award winners2014State Fair Community College has announced its Distinguished Student Writer awards for 2013-2014.

The top three winners are Renata Prado, Green Ridge, first place; Lauren Wood, Houston, Texas, and Kevin Zbornak, Sedalia, tied for second place; and Carlos Aguado, California, third place. They received plaques at a luncheon April 24 on the Sedalia campus.

English Composition I and II and Literature instructors nominated student papers from the hundreds submitted in their fall 2013 and spring 2014 sections. Three tutors from the college’s Academic Success Center selected the top 10 essays. Four SFCC faculty and staff independently reviewed and ranked the essays.

Other top 10 finalists included Linda Church, Lincoln; Hayley Akeson and Hannah Boatright, Sedalia; Kelsey Schnorenberg, Knob Noster; Clara Knipp, Tipton; and Jamie Embrey, Warrensburg.

Anne Homan is division chair of the English Composition and Literature department.

In the photo: SFCC honored the top 10 writing students for 2013-2014 at a luncheon April 24 on the Sedalia campus. The top three students were also recognized. Students attending were, first row from left, Jaime Embrey and Kelsey Schnorenberg. Second row, from left, Carlos Aguado, third place winner; Hannah Boatright and Renata Prado. Third row, from left, Kevin Zbornak, tied for second place; Hayley Akeson and Linda Church. Students honored but not pictured were Lauren Wood, tied for second place, and Clara Knipp. Photo submitted.


Previous post:

Next post: