Women’s Democrat club reports on April 15 meeting

April 16, 2014

in Club

Democrat+DonkeyThe April 15 Women’s Democrat Meeting was held at Best Western.

President Jane Kelley opened the meeting at 6:15 p.m.

Shirley McCown offered prayer and Ruth Franklin led the Pledge.

Secretary Charli Ackerman read the minutes from the March meeting. Approved

Treasurer Sheryl Von Holten presented the treasury reports from February and March, approved. Sheryl also read the audit report done by our club auditor Juanita Hood.

Jane read a thank you note from Marge Harlan thanking us for allowing her to be guest speaker at our February meeting and present her slideshow of “A Psychologist Looks at Slavery in America.” She also sent a brochure of the Rose Nolen Black History Library and the membership rates for whoever might be interested.

Discussion was held about where to give our donation from our club in lieu of buying a gift for our outgoing president as we had voted on last month. Donna Franklin motioned that we give $25 to the Rose Nolen Black History Library. Sharon Blankenship seconded. Vote was unanimous, approved.

Jane asked for volunteers to be on the Scholarship Committee as we will need to award our scholarship at our Ice Cream Social in July. Connie McLaughlin and Donna Franklin volunteered. Jane will ask Fran Shafer, whom was absent, if she will be on the committee again as she has in the past. The club agreed to give $500 from our club treasury. Discussion was held rather to split the scholarship if necessary. Betty Hickam motioned that it should be given to either one recipient or two depending on the number of applications and their qualifications, but not to split the money more than once. Ruth Franklin seconded. Vote was unanimous, and approved. Judi Ebers relayed that she felt sure that Adam Fisher would want to donate $500 scholarship in memory of his wife as he has in the past. This scholarship will be awarded to one recipient per Mr. Fisher’s request.

President Jane relayed that next month’s guest speaker will be Pettis County Historian Becky Imhauser.

President Jane installed our new officers as follows.

President: Donna Franklin, 1st Vice President: Jane Kelly, 3rd Vice President: Sharon Blankenship, Secretary: Sharon Bridges, Treasury: Pam Doane, Auditor: Charli Ackerman. 2nd Vice President, Cookie Poole was absent and will be installed at our May meeting.

Our new president Donna Franklin relayed that she will be dutifully committed to our Women’s Club and to all Pettis County Democrats, hoping to have a united front and ‘get back to basics.

Meeting adjourned at 7:30 p.m.

Previous post:

Next post: