SSLC names three scholarship winners

April 12, 2014

in Student

Daniel Akin-Sr pictureThe Sedalia Student Leadership Council (SSLC), a group that was formed in the 2006-2007 school year, emphasizes community service and participates in a variety of service projects. The SSLC has also recognized several community leaders who model that same type of service. The SSLC established a scholarship, for Juniors or Seniors in Sedalia, based on service to the community and leadership skills.

Through the generous support of several individuals, businesses and service organizations here in Sedalia, the SSLC was able toLogan F award three $500 scholarships this year to Logan Fluty, Daniel Akin and Wade Hagebusch.

Logan Fluty’s scholarship is awarded in the memory of Bob Wasson, former mayor of Sedalia. Mr. Wasson was one of the earliest supporters of the SSLC. His invaluable leadership and guidance was a true blessing to the SSLC and the Sedalia Community at large. Logan, a student at Smith Cotton is the son of Joy and Joe Fluty and plans on attending the Truman State University. Logan plans to major in Pre-Med (Chemistry and Biology).

WadeHDaniel is the son of Laura and Brad Akin. Daniel plans to attend the University of Central Missouri majoring in Mathematics Education.

Wade is the son of Barbara and David Hagebusch. Wade plans to major in Hospitality Management at Missouri State University.

Donations for next year’s Scholarship drive are tax exempt and can be mailed to Jane McMullin, 416 West Third Street, Sedalia.


Previous post:

Next post: