Galliher wins mayoral race

April 8, 2014

in Local

Galliher-webObserver Staff

Sedalia elected a new mayor Tuesday, and his name is Stephen J. Galliher.

Galliher won with 1,200 votes (68.45 percent) over challenger and former Sedalia Mayor Allen Hawkins, who chalked up 539 votes (30.75 percent). there were 14 write-in votes for a total of 1,753 votes cast in six precincts.

Galliger will be officially sworn in at the Council’s next regular meeting. He succeeds current Mayor Elaine Horn, who decided not to run for reelection.

James Cunningham easily defeated challenger Susan E. Daniels in Sedalia First Ward in a City Council race. Cunningham secured 375 votes, or 66.84 percent, to Daniels’ 185 votes, or 32.98 percent. There was one write-in vote in that race.

In the Third Ward, Don Meier beat Terry Cockrell for a spot on City Council.

Meier secured 250 votes, or 64.43 percent of the votes, while Cockrell got 137 votes, or 35.31 percent. There was one write-in vote in that contest.

Wanda Monsees was unopposed in the Second Ward. She garnered 204 votes or 99.03 percent. There were two write-in votes.

Tolbert (Tollie) Rowe was also unopposed in the Fourth ward and won with 475 votes, or 98.75 percent. There were six write-in votes.

Debbie Mitchell ran unopposed for Municipal Judge and won with 1,482 votes, or 98.87 percent. There were 17 write-in votes.

Ron Wineinger and Jerry Greer were the winners in a close three-way race with Kip Salmon for two spots on the SFCC Board of Trustees. Wineinger racked up 1,725 votes, or 34.66 percent, while Greer was second with 1,627, or 32.69 percent of the votes. Salmon was third with 1,614 votes, or 32.43 percent. There were 11 write-in votes.

La Monte Mayor Paul F. Wilbern was reelected with 77 votes, or 58.33 percent of the votes. His challenger Daniel K. Stratton lost with 54 votes, or 40.91 percent. There was one write-in vote.

Fred A. Armstrong beat Dan Dekeyser, 46-35, with one write-in vote in the La Monte Ward 1 race. David P. Wessel ran unopposed in Ward 2 and secured 43 votes, or 97.73 percent. There was one write-in vote.

Damian L. Lemens will be Smithton’s new mayor after defeating Jerry K. Owen. Lemens secured 62 votes, or 63.92 percent of the vote, to Owen’s 35 votes, or 36.08 percent.

In the Smithton R-6 School District, Eddie ByBee was the biggest winner with 228 votes, followed by John Frazee with 170. Sara Moore was third with 157 votes. Frank Bell came in fourth with 118 votes, followed by Kyle Asbury with 101 and James Haislip with 87. There was one write-in vote.

In Hughesville, Dan Wuebker defeated Elizabeth Thalgott, 25-14, in that race. Wuebker secured 60.98 percent of the vote to Thalgott’s 34.15 percent. There were two write-in votes.

In Houstonia’s South Ward, Brenda Cramer beat Bonnie Ball, 18-9. Cramer secured 66.67 percent of the vote to Ball’s 33.33 percent.

Ronnie Ollison was elected mayor of Green Ridge. He defeated challenger Mike Johnson, 42-13. Ollison had 76.36 percent of the vote to 23,64 percent for Johnson.

Also in Green Ridge, Kelly Lamb narrowly defeated Tom Durrill, 35-33, for Green Ridge Alderman. Lamb secured 49.30 percent of the vote to Durrill’s 46.48 percent.

In the Pettis County R-5 School District race, Amy Kreisel secured the most votes with a total of 141, or 25.87 percent of the vote.

Austin Lea was second with 122 votes. Beth Douglas was third with 111. Kenneth Schuber came in fourth with 89, while Jeremy Kiso was last with 81 votes. There was one write-in vote.

In the Sweet Springs R-7 School District race, Troy K. Schroeder was the top vote getter with 14, followed by Brian Vogelsmeier with 10. Robert Fuehrig was third with six votes, then Francis Vaught with five and Bruce J. Hoyes with three votes.

  • a_goodtarheel1

    Double check your math on the SFCC race. It makes no sense.

Previous post:

Next post: