Home » News » State » MSF scholarships awarded to 4-H, FFA youth recipients to be recognized April

MSF scholarships awarded to 4-H, FFA youth recipients to be recognized April

March 24, 2014

in State

4hlogoMissouri State Fair Director Mark Wolfe announced today that 38 youth, selected from Missouri 4-H and FFA, will be awarded scholarships by the Missouri State Fair Foundation Youth in Agriculture (YIA) committee. These students are seeking higher education in agriculture-related fields, and will receive their scholarships Friday, April 25, during the annual State FFA Convention in Columbia.

“We are proud of the Youth in Agriculture tradition, which financially assists Missouri’s next generation of agriculture leaders with their educations,” Wolfe said. The scholarships were funded by the Missouri State Fair Foundation and by Youth in Agriculture supporters at the 2013 Sale of Champions; a list of those supporters and auction results http://www.mostatefair.com/youth-in-agriculture is available on the Fair’s website.

The applicants for the scholarships were evaluated in a variety of areas including Missouri State Fair participation, grade point average, community involvement and leadership roles. Since 1992, the YIA committee has awarded 474 scholarships totaling $400,500.FFA

Julie Crouch, of Lincoln, has been selected from among the applicants to receive a $2,500 supreme scholarship, sponsored by Sydenstricker John Deere of Missouri/Sydenstricker Angus Genetics. The youth chosen to receive $1,000 scholarships are:

* Megan Abel, Marthasville

* Kelsey Almond, New Boston

* Jillian Sarah Bertz, Mayview

* Bryana Lyn Binkley, Jefferson City

* Rachael Bonacker, Cedar Hill

* Julie Choate, Pleasant Hope

* Mikayla Elizabeth Engeman, Montrose

* Jaime Erickson, Keytesville

* Jason Michael Francka, Brighton

* Tyler Joshua Gerke, Smithton

* Erin D. Greeley, Hopkins

* Amanda Hampton, Nelson

* Rebecca Helton, Macon

* Marissa Darlene Herring, Saint Joseph

* Ellen Jackson, Miller

* Cavin Joesting, Rock Port

* Clara Knipp, Tipton

* James Auburn Lasater, Elsberry

* Carson Luther, Lawson

* Samantha Nicole Marre, Elsberry

* Brittney McBride, Centralia

* Haylee Reid, Owensville

* MaKayla Reynolds, Huntsville

* Lindsey Robinson, Wellsville

* Alyssa Rockers, Carthage

* Timothy Russell, Warrensburg

* John G. Schenkel, Maryville

* Taylor Strain, Rolla

* Rebekah Temte, Verona

* Clayton Thompson, Lohman

* Blaire Todd, Helena

* Sara Van Ausdal, Troy

* Ashlee Waddell, Curryville

* Chance Wait, Moundville

* Morgan Walkup, Gower

* Katelyn Lorraine Wansing, Marshall

* Elizabeth Warren, Dawn

The YIA committee is comprised of volunteers from across the state who work throughout the year to raise funds for the annual Sale of Champions auction. This year’s auction will be held Saturday, Aug. 16, in the Lowell Mohler Assembly Hall on the fairgrounds.

The 112th annual Missouri State Fair, themed “Harvest the Fun!” will be held Aug. 7-17 in Sedalia. For more information about the auction or this year’s fair, visit www.mostatefair.com<http://www.mostatefair.com/, follow the Missouri State Fair on Facebook and Twitter or call 1-800-422-FAIR (3247).

Previous post:

Next post: