Fourteen counties declared ‘agricultural disaster areas’

February 14, 2014

in National

usda-logoThe Secretary of Agriculture designated 14 Missouri counties as primary agricultural disaster areas making certain farmers and other agricultural producers in primary and contiguous counties eligible for low-interest emergency loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA).

Pettis County was designated as a contiguous disaster area due to damages and losses caused by drought which occurred August 27, 2013, thru November 04, 2013.

Pettis County was designated a disaster area on Dec. 11, 2013, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from FSA, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Loans for physical losses must be used to replace or repair damage to buildings, fences or to compensate the farmer for losses of basic livestock, stored crops, or supplies on hand, equipment, etc., that was lost due to the disaster. Loans for production losses may also be used to buy feed, seed, fertilizer, livestock or to make payments on real estate or chattel debts. Generally, loans for production losses cannot be approved until crops have completed their production cycle or have been harvested.

In order to qualify, a farmer must have suffered a 30 percent loss in production or an actual physical loss that was essential to the successful operation of the farm.

Interested farmers may contact the Pettis County FSA office at 660-826-3339 ext 108 for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs or visit

Previous post:

Next post: