Healthy U Class of 2014 named, Class of 2013 celebrated

January 10, 2014

in Local

HU Night of Inspiration 2014 135About 175 people attend Healthy U’s Night of Inspiration on Jan. 9, in the Stauffacher Theatre at State Fair Community College. The event celebrated the healthy lifestyle achievements of the Class of 2013, who collectively lost 486 pounds through the course of a year.

Jamie Groshart, of Sedalia, was the Healthy U student with the highest percentage of weight loss, and winner of a prize package valued at more than $1,000. Groshart shed 85.6 pounds, or 36 percent of her starting weight. Chad Weis, of Green Ridge, lost the second highest percentage of weight with 94.2 pounds, or 33 percent, followed by Carla Halane, of Sedalia, with 100.4 pounds, or 29 percent.

The Class of 2014, who were selected through a competitive application process, were also announced. The students are paired with fitness and nutrition coaches for the year, and publicly document their journey to a healthier lifestyle.

The Class of 2014 includes: Carolyn Hatting, Kanesha Butler, Zachary Wulf, Nicole Thomas, Cherelle Staten, Trisha Green, Steve Sobaski, Dawn Williams, Erin Haulotte, Charlie Price, Kelly Polley and Sarah Siegel.

In addition to the program for 12 Pettis County residents, Healthy U provides community activities that encourage healthy lifestyles, including a weekly weight-loss support group, Couch to 5K training program and cooking classes.Classof2013

Healthy U is a project of the Healthy Living Action Group, which includes Bothwell Regional Health Center, Pettis County Health Center, University of Missouri Extension-Pettis County, Boys & Girls Clubs of West Central Missouri and Katy Trail Community Health.

For more information visit or call Bothwell Community Outreach Coordinator Stephanie Fraley at 827-9138.

In the top photo: The Healthy U Class of 2014: (back row L-R) Sarah Siegel, Charlie Price, Carolyn Hatting, Dawn Williams, Zachary Wulf, Kanesha Butler, and Steve Sobaski; (front row L-R) Kelly Polley, Nicole Thomas, Erin Haulotte, Cherelle Staten, and Trisha Green. –Submitted.



Previous post:

Next post: