Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame inducts 47 members

August 20, 2013

in Club

COLUMBIA, Mo.– “Making the best better” for generations of Missouri 4-H club members, 47 luminaries joined the Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame, Aug. 17 at the State Fair Community College campus in Sedalia, Mo.

Inductees from 40 counties established a legacy totaling 1,465 years of service to 4-H. Family members and friends attended the seventh annual event. Inductees were nominated by their counties for outstanding volunteer work in local 4-H programs.

“This celebration acknowledges the contributions of distinguished 4-H leaders—past and present,” said Missouri 4-H Foundation chair Nelda Godfrey.

The Missouri 4-H Foundation recognizes individuals who have created a legacy of service to 4-H by honoring them with membership in the Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame.

“These leaders have made exceptional contributions to the lives of Missouri 4-H members,” said Missouri 4-H Foundation executive director Cheryl Reams.

2013 Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame inductees, by county

Andrew: Ruth Dunn

Barton: Dennis Wilson

Bates: Ron Nissen

Boone: Nathan Martin

Caldwell: Lena Houghton

Cape Girardeau: Cathy Hemmann

Carroll: Belinda Flick

Chariton: JoAnn Mott

Clark: Marilyn Day

Clay: Robert and Anna Noland

Clinton: Margaret Schemmer

Cole: Ruth Ann Klatt

DeKalb: Jim and Melissa Stulz

Franklin: Sue and Stan Koch

Harrison: Glenda Mercer

Henry: Mike and Lois Miller

Howard: Kay Schnell

Jackson: Harold Smith

Jasper: Sherry Block

Johnson: Roy Lee White

Lafayette: Linda Strathman

Lawrence: Karla Grimm

Lewis: Lester Hoffman

Lincoln: Elizabeth Schlueter

Linn: Dr. John Perry

Livingston: Cindy Jones

Macon: Cathy Baker

Marion: Richard “Leon” Perry

Monroe: Margaret and Robert Wilkerson

Osage: Gerald (Jerry) Starke

Pettis: Dorothy Sparks

Ralls: A.J. Bassinger

Randolph: Edith Stegall

Ripley: Beverly Reagan *

Saline: Elsie Werneke *

Schuyler: Sam Western Family

Scotland: Kay Eggleston

Shelby: Leslie and Kelly Wilt

St. Clair: Barbara Taber

Vernon: Jerry and Katherine Arnold

* Denotes a posthumous award

Dorothy Sparks

Previous post:

Next post: