S-C instrumental student awards noted

April 29, 2013

in Student

Seniors Caroline Decker, left, and Rachel Howieson play 'Abram’s Pursuit' during Saturday’s Spring Concert.

The Smith-Cotton High School instrumental music department held a concert and awards luncheon on Saturday, April 27, before the band traveled to Kansas City to participate in the Worlds of Fun Music Festival. The concert featured performances of “Masque,” “Florentiner March” and “Abram’s Pursuit.” At the competition, S-C received a II-minus rating and won its division.

The John Phillip Sousa Band Award went to Caroline Decker and Andrew Halsell, while Tim Decker and Jacob Douglas won the Louis Armstrong Jazz Award. Other honors given out Saturday included:

Grant Maledy, director of instrumental music for Sedalia School District 200, congratulates senior Andrew Halsell, who won the John Phillip Sousa Band Award. The award recognizes superior musicianship, dependability, loyalty and cooperation.

National School Orchestra: Joel Gresham

Most improved (Band)

Grade 12: Jason Young, Hannah Satnan, Jessica Bergman

Grade 11: Tyler Steger, Abigail Kearney

Grade 10: Matthew Binney, Payton Heistand

Grade 9: Julian Schmedike, Sydney Fockler

Most improved (Orchestra)

Grade 12: Samantha Mather

Grade 11: Marrianna Harden

Grade 10: Austin Pratt, Morgan Alford

Grade 9: Ramey Baro

Grant Maledy, director of instrumental music for Sedalia School District 200, conducts the Smith-Cotton High School concert band during its Spring Concert on Saturday, April 27, in the Heckart Performing Arts Center.

Outstanding performers (Band)

Grade 12: Carter Noble, Rachel Howieson

Grade 11: Grant Waters, Logan Fluty, Anna Drexler

Grade 10: Andrew Wagenknecht, Erin Strouse

Grade 9: David Wester, Courtney Cooper

Outstanding performers (Orchestra)

Grade 12: Zach Greene, Nancy Webster

Grade 11: Jesus Alejo, Kirsten Finnel

Grade 10: Alec Wilken, Timi Sanders

Grade 9: Lawerence Westerfield, Molly Harvey. Photos courtesy Sedalia School District 200.

Previous post:

Next post: