SFCC student athletes receive awards

March 28, 2013

in Local

The State Fair Community College Athletics Department handed out post-season awards and inducted another class into the Roadrunner Athletics Hall Of Fame March 26 at the Missouri Electric Coop Building on the Missouri State Fairgrounds.

The event recognized the achievements of SFCC student athletes during the 2012-2013 basketball season.

Roadrunners Head Coach Kevin Thomas and Assistant Coach Josh Sash presented the Roadrunners team awards:

Sophomore Kenny Chery—most points, highest three-point percentage, most steals, All-Region 16 team, and the Midwest Community College Athletic Conference (MCCAC) All-Conference team

Freshman guard Joe Thomasson—most assists, All-Region 16 team and MCCAC All-Conference team

Sophomore forward Charles Beard—highest field-goal percentage

Sophomore forward Jacob Williams—most rebounds

Sophomore forward Ayo Ojo—most blocked shots and MCCAC All-Conference team

Freshman guard Marcus Mondaine—hustle award

Freshman guard Kevin Punter—Honorable Mention All-Region 16 and MCCAC All-Conference team

SFCC finished the season with a 20-10 record.

Lady Roadrunners Head Coach Kevin Bucher and Assistant Coach Buck Scheel presented the Lady Roadrunners team awards:

Freshman guard Antoinette Taylor—most points, highest field-goal percentage, All-Region 16 First Team, and MCCAC First Team

Freshman guard Adella Randle-El—most assists, most steals, highest three-point field-goal percentage, All-Region 16 First Team, and MCCAC First Team

Freshman guard Apiphany Woods—highest free-throw percentage

Freshman forward Lawre’ll Dobbins—most improved player

Sophomore Mia Wesley—Lady Roadrunner Award; Coach Bucher announced the name of the award would be changed to the Mia Wesley Award because of her work ethic and leadership.

The Lady Roadrunners finished the season with a 21-10 record.

Members of the men’s and women’s basketball teams also received certificates for the KSIS-Mr. Bob Oehrke Player of the Game awards they had earned throughout the season.

Vice President for Educational and Student Support Services Dr. Brent Bates presented academic honors to student athletes who had cumulative GPAs of 3.0 or higher. Honored were Chery, Mondaine, Punter, freshman Deron Hill, Taylor, and Spirit Squad members sophomore Kayla Snapp and freshmen Caitlin Mayden, Elisha Miller and Pam Burgard.

Dr. Michael Perusich presented the Backbone of Health Fan Favorite awards to sophomore Jacob Williams and freshman Antoinette Taylor. This new award allowed fans to vote for their favorite Lady Roadrunner and Roadrunner on Twitter.

Three new members also were inducted in the Roadrunner Athletics Hall of fame: Orlando “Chuckie” Johnson, a member of the men’s basketball team from 1993-1995; Joe Peabody, a member of the 1978-1979 SFCC rodeo team; and former Lady Roadrunners and Roadrunners Head Coach Dale Kimberling, who coached at the college off and on from 1977 until his retirement in 2007.

Athletics director Darren Pannier and members of the SFCC Athletics Department staff also presented outgoing SFCC President Dr. Marsha Drennon with a framed jersey in honor of her support of the department during her presidency.

Shown in the photo are members of the State Fair Community College Athletics Department staff present President Dr. Marsha Drennon with a framed basketball jersey in honor of her support of the department. From left, Roadrunners Assistant Coach Josh Sash, Lady Roadrunners Assistant Coach Buck Scheel, Lady Roadrunners Head Coach Kevin Bucher, Drennon, and Roadrunners Head Coach Kevin Thomas. In the background is Athletic Director Darren Pannier. (Submitted) 

Previous post:

Next post: