Home » News » State » Missouri State Fair Scholarships awarded to FFA, 4-H Youth

Missouri State Fair Scholarships awarded to FFA, 4-H Youth

March 21, 2013

in State

Today, Missouri State Fair Director Mark Wolfe announced the names of 37 scholarship recipients selected from among Missouri FFA and 4-H high school seniors with plans to seek higher education in agriculture-related fields. The scholarships were made available by the Fair’s Youth-in-Agriculture (YIA) committee, and will be awarded April 19 during the annual State FFA Convention in Columbia.

“Awarding these scholarships is a tradition we are proud to carry on for Missouri’s next generation of agriculture leaders,” Wolfe said. “The scholarships were funded by the Missouri State Fair Foundation and from Youth in Agriculture buyers and sponsors at the 2012 Sale of Champions.”

The scholarship applicants were evaluated in a variety of areas including Missouri State Fair participation, grade point average, community involvement and leadership roles. Since 1992, the YIA committee has awarded 436 scholarships totaling $361,000.

Chase Montgomery Thummel, of Sheridan, was selected, from among the applicants, to receive a $2,500 supreme scholarship, sponsored by Sydenstricker John Deere of Missouri/Sydenstricker Angus Genetics. The following were selected to receive $1,000 scholarships:

• Britney Adam, of Lathrop

• Haley Alden, of Hamilton

• Nathaniel Beach, of Pilot Grove

• Jonathan D. Bellis, of Aurora, sponsored by Missouri State Fair Foundation

• Leslie Birkenholz, of Hopkins

• Matthew “David” Boatright, of Sedalia

• Courtney Jo Brown, of Chillicothe

• Tessa Chambers, of Fayette

• Cale Comstock, of Deerfield

• Jacob Coon, of Bethel

• Brittany Eagleburger, of Buffalo

• Britton Francis, of Paris

• R. Garren Gibson, of Ridgeway

• Maggie Glidewell, of Lathrop

• Perry Evan Gorrell, of Cole Camp

• Jordann Noelle Gregory, of Houstonia

• Courtney Hall, of Creighton

• Cody G. Hasekamp, of Madison, sponsored by Missouri State Fair Foundation

• Christopher P. Kahlenbeck, of Union, sponsored by Missouri State Fair Foundation

• Tyler Lane, of Saint Catharine

• Cyrsten Lollar, of Chillicothe

• Miriam Martin, of Bucklin, sponsored by Missouri State Fair Foundation

• Jade Morgan, of Lamar

• Ryan Nelson, of Vandalia

• Timothy Lee Niemeier, of Marceline

• Carlee Phipps, of Lamar

• Austin Lee Reedy, of Windsor

• Layne Robinson, of Wellsville, sponsored by Missouri State Fair Foundation

• William Ryan Shaffer, of Carthage

• Britney Shields, of LaRussell

• Kendra Dawn Stinson, of Prairie Home

• Kristen Toedebusch, of Warrenton

• Grant Henry Voelker, of Perryville, sponsored by Missouri State Fair Foundation

• Taylor Washburn, of Eagleville

• Kelly Wilsdorf, of Columbia

• Harley Wooldridge, of Carrollton

The YIA committee is comprised of 50 volunteers from across the state, and works throughout the year to raise funds for the annual Sale of Champions (SOC) auction. The 2013 auction will be held during YIA Day at the Fair, Saturday, Aug. 17, in the Lowell Mohler Assembly Hall.

For more information on the auction, call 800-422-FAIR (3247). Visit mostatefair.com for a complete list of the 2012 YIA sponsors and 2012 SOC results.

The 111th annual Missouri State Fair will be held Aug. 8-18 in Sedalia, themed “Chicks Dig It.”

Previous post:

Next post: